OS blues...

Discussion in 'A+' started by Malnomates, Jan 30, 2006.

1. Malnomates

Malnomates Megabyte Poster

I have the opportunity to recieve a free PC from work.Not a new one,but a machine that's come back to the workshop from an upgrade.I'm presently working through my hardware studies with the help of Mr.Meyers All in One and CBT nuggets 2003 videos (kindly donated by a friend who recently took the A+),thank you Andrew) and am comfortable with my progress so far.Sooner or later though I have to flick the dreaded page which is going to say :unsure Operating Systems :unsure .

The question is this,I intend to dual boot this system (after FDISKin' the poor thing first of course) and reinstall 2 operating systems (duh!!obviously!!!).Which 2 OS would be most advantageous to my learning experience?

I have some limited knowledge and experience with DOS and I'm quite 'at home' with XP,in it's classic and Luna styles.I've worked with ME and a little with 98,but almost no experience with95 and limited experience with 2000.

Certifications: A+ Network+
  2. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

good you getting your hands dirty... umm i would use win 98 and win xp , well thats what i did! :biggrin

PS good luck and ask questions if you need we all here to learn! 8)

Certifications: B.Sc, MCDST & MCSA
    WIP: M.Sc - Computer Forensics
  3. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

I'd agree on 98SE and XP.

95 is fairly similar to 98SE, and Win2k is fairly similar to XP in classic mode. You would just need to learn about the differences.

ME is a problem in being mostly 98, but with lots of changes, so I'd tend to suggest that again learning the differences from 98 should do.

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  4. Jakamoko
    Honorary Member

Jakamoko On the move again ...