Online Proctored Exam

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by JK2447, Sep 7, 2017.

1. JK2447
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

JK2447 Petabyte Poster Administrator Premium Member

Hi all, just looking at options for booking a Microsoft exam, and this is an option. Have any of you selected this option? What did you think? Seems pretty cool to me and saves on travel but I've never done this before.

Certifications: VCP4, 5, 6, 6.5, 6.7, 7, 8, VCAP DCV Design, VMConAWS Skill, Google Cloud Digital Leader, BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VSP, VTSP
    WIP: Google Cloud Certs
  2. Pseudonym

Pseudonym Kilobyte Poster

I've never attempted it, mainly because in work I couldn't guarantee no distractions, and at home I couldn't guarantee internet connectivity. If the connection drops then the exam is invalidated. And my home connection does drop out about once or twice a week so it seems like an unnecessary risk.

JK2447 likes this.
  3. ClaireAgutter

ClaireAgutter New Member

I've done a few online exams now, at home and in hotel rooms. As long as it's a live proctor (not software proctored and reviewed later), my experience has been it's really smooth (and for me, a bit more relaxing than visiting a test centre!). It's best to have a reliable internet connection (most companies will have a pre-check option you can use), but if your connection does drop the exam can normally be recovered. My experiences come from Peoplecert and EXIN. Good luck!

4. Pseudonym

Pseudonym Kilobyte Poster

Interesting that you were able to continue the exams after connection failures. I'll have a look into Microsoft's policies on it. One other reason I forgot about was toilet breaks. Lol. I like to feel hydrated before an exam so..

5. Juelz

Juelz Gigabyte Poster