On the search for a PDA for my grandparents

Discussion in 'The Lounge - Off Topic' started by derkit, Oct 2, 2007.

1. derkit

derkit Gigabyte Poster

... my grandparents are one of those retired persons that are really into their technology - and are looking for a PDA.

Nothing too fancy, but as I have little experience with them I wanted to get everyone elses thoughts:

Main requirements: word and excel. Some little games like solitaire and that chinese game. Some diary planner involved, lists phone numbers. Don't want (but can live with it if turned off) bluetooth/wi-fi. Something under £200.

Any thoughts people?

Certifications: MBCS, BSc(Hons), Cert(Maths), A+, Net+, MCDST, ITIL-F v3, MCSA
    WIP: 70-293
  2. Phoenix
    Honorary Member

Phoenix 53656e696f7220 4d6f64

have to ask
    would a smart phone not make a better choice?
    saves them having two devices, can be picked up free on some contracts anyway and has the added benefit of actually having things like phone books and address lists be usable

the O2 XDA range are pretty good (mostly branded HTC stuff)

if that's not what your looking for, Dell and Asus do nice affordable PDAs last time I checked (have to be honest I haven't looked at dedicated PDAs for ages)

Certifications: MCSE, MCITP, VCP
    WIP: > 0
  3. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Me personally I like the Dell Axim (currently £220 inc Vat & del), however judging by your requirements any PDA that has Windows Mobile (5 or the newer one 6) will suit them.

But that's just my opinion :)

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  4. Toasty

Toasty Byte Poster

Certifications: A+, Network+, MCDST, MCSA
    WIP: MCSE, CCNA
  5. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

I'd thought I'd chip in as I'm rapidly heading towards 'grandparent' age! :biggrin