Older Guy

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by dfryerd, Jul 13, 2007.

1. dfryerd

dfryerd New Member

Hello to all of you,
    I am just after some advice please,I am 51 years old and i have got approx 15 years experience in computers: building, networking ,xp ,vista etc.
    But i have no current qualifications to say that i can do any of the above.
    So i have decided to teach myself comptia a+, and then go onto MCDST and take the exams.
    Has any body any thoughts on my age, and do you think this would put potential employers off, I hope to get the exams done within the next 6 months, as i have 4 days a week to study

Many Thanks Dave

Certifications: Comptia a+ MCDST 70-270
    WIP: n+ 70-290
  2. Theprof

Theprof Petabyte Poster

Welcome to the forums Dave.

You have a lot of experience which is what counts most. If you add the certifications to that, you'll even be more qualified.

I dont think your age will have something to do with it.

Certifications: A+ | CCA | CCAA | Network+ | MCDST | MCSA | MCP (270, 271, 272, 290, 291) | MCTS (70-662, 70-663) | MCITP:EMA | VCA-DCV/Cloud/WM | VTSP | VCP5-DT | VCP5-DCV
    WIP: VCAP5-DCA/DCD | EMCCA
  3. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Welcome to CF :) I agree with what's been said, don't worry about it (age). Good luck with your studies.

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  4. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Hi and welcome to CF!

I was older than you when I got my current job, and nobody said anything about age then!

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  5. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster