Not there yet

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by damienj3, May 28, 2006.

1. damienj3

damienj3 Byte Poster

Hi All. I haven't written for a while and I had a bit of spare time on my hands (for a change). Well, Yesterday I turned 28 and it got me thinking that I really need to get my head down and finish this course. I'm studying towards mcse security with NITLC but have had a few minor set backs, for example. I have a 1yr old daughter, a full time job and there are not enough hours in the day to get everything done. The problem is that my support with NITLC ends in November and I haven't completed 1 exam yet due to other commitments that I didn't have when I first signed up. I'm not too worried about this as I can always carry on without the support (I have you guys here if I need help and I haven't had to use the tutors at NITLC). The thing that worries me is that time is getting on and I am nearly 30. Is this going to be a problem when getting a job in the IT field? I know that I have to get moving but with less than 5 hours a week study time I feel like I am going to be in my 40's before I get in to my dream job. I'm not looking for sympathy what I'm looking for is a swift kick up the Jacksy and some motivational advise. Thanking you for taking the time to read my rant and all help will be greatfully received.

Certifications: mcse
    WIP: MCSE 2003
  2. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

Damien,

I know exactly what you are saying, because i have been there myself. Keep focused on what you want, set aside some time per day for study and look out for volunteer jobs to gain valuble experience.
    Good luck :thumbleft

Certifications: MCSA 2003, MCDST, A+, N+, CTT+, MCT
  3. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?