Not sure what route to take

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by matt19849, Apr 29, 2011.

1. matt19849

matt19849 New Member

Hi everyone - i'm a bit stuck on what courses to look at taking etc and was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction. Heres my situation:

I've been working in IT for 8 years now and haven't managed to gain one qualification/certification which I dont think is very good.
    All the companies I have worked for in the past have promised me they will put me on different courses but when it comes down to it they are always "too busy"
    Because of this i've been trying on and off to do some home studying and then pay for an exam but I have never managed it yet.
    I generally start something then get distracted and never go back to it which is very frustrating.

At the moment my role is a Senior Network Engineer which to be fair isn't very hard, I maintain IT equipment (servers, desktops and networks) at various sites but nothing ever goes wrong apart from the odd printer here a new pc there, so in short i'm not learning anything new.

I have started studying plenty of different subjects (Windows 7 configuration, Security+, Sharepoint etc) but with the same outcome - I get distracted.

The one subject I was studying that I enjoyed was Security+ but then I got half way through and wondered onto something else.

Could someone maybe suggest a course that I could try and have more luck with to start me off or suggest a way that I can really crack down and get studying without wondering of to different things?

Cheers in advance

2. sheepluv

sheepluv Byte Poster