Newby wants Certificate advice

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by ColdWarz, Oct 21, 2007.

1. ColdWarz

ColdWarz New Member

Just joined the community and I have a couple of questions that have probobly been answered about 10 times before but here goes:

1.) I am studying for the MCSE 2003. Should I do this or wait until Server 2008 is out and do this and Vista client modules or stick with the server 2003 and XP client?

2.) From all of your collective experiences how much time, generally, does it take to complete a module and be ready to take the exam?

Finally:

3.) Can anyone provide info on study guides, etc?

All help and advice appreciated.

James

"Knowledge is power" - Francis Bacon

Certifications: 70-270
    WIP: 70-290
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Hi Welcome

What experience do you have?, as you shouldnt go for MCSE untill you have at least 6 months experience in the real world.

Also MCSE 2000 have just been retired so MCSE 2003 will be around for a long time.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. ColdWarz

ColdWarz New Member

Hello, cheers for replying. I've been working in IT about 6 years! Been using XP Pro since it came out and have used server2003 for about a year! 2000 for about 3 years before that.

Certifications: 70-270
    WIP: 70-290
  4. Theprof

Theprof Petabyte Poster

Hello and welcome to the forums.

If you are studying for the MCSE 2003 and attain it, then in order to become and MCSE 2008 you just need to do an upgrade exam. I am not sure if it's one or two exams but before going from 2000 to 2003 it was one exam. So you're not really missing out on anything.

Here is the thing, to be MCSE microsoft wants its candidates to have at least one year of experience in administering a network with a certain size of the company. This information you can find here.