Newbie looking for new career

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by se99paj, May 31, 2006.

1. se99paj

se99paj New Member

Hello all, I've been reading a few posts on here and the advice sounds really useful so I wanted to tax your brains on a problem that I have.

So I'm a 25yo mechanical engineer, but at the moment I'm not really doing any engineering, I'm bored with the daily grind and would like to get a job that I'm interested in, instead of just doing to get a paycheque.

I've been interested in computers for a while, unfortunately it was during university after I decided to do a mechanical engineering degree.

The main part of computing that I am interested in is fixing problems, I have done it numerous times in the past fixing neighbours PC's or upgrading PC's. I find it interesting and enjoyable, I'll be up until all hours trying to fix the problem. So I figured why not try and make a career out of it.

I know there are numerous training centres around the UK, most cost a fortune but I suppose that is the price you have to pay, unless you teach yourself.

I have asked to get some details from the training centres, unfortunately they have to be distance learning as I still want to work as I train. So I have contacted computeach and the ntlc. But I would like to look at the self-learning but have no idea where to start, or will companies not like me as much if I am self taught. Alos what books should I look into?? what qualifications should I try and get first??

2. Modey

Modey Terabyte Poster

Hi and welcome to CF. The best advice is to have a good look around the forums. Sounds like the A+ would be right up your street and fortunately if you choose to, it's a great one to self study. Have a good look in the Training & Development forum and also the A+ forum, they would be good places to start.