Newbie here!

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by barrixrock, Jul 6, 2011.

1. barrixrock

barrixrock Bit Poster

I am glad I found this site.
    I recently dropped out of university.

I was hoping I get some advice on doing a course for IT Career.
    I am good with playing hardware stuff. Already have made few pcs on my own at home..

I went to 360 GSP yesterday. The lady over told me. I don't have to do A+ since I already that knowledge.

She told me to do a package with " VMware, MCITP, Cisco CCNA" for 7 months with job guarantee!
    Price was £5500 + £2000(after the job is placed) = £7500

Is the price fair or too expensive? I really have no clue which one to go for studying? She will call me tomorrow to join or not?

Really sorry if this is wrong section to ask about?
    I hope anyone is willing to help newbie like me!

Thanks

Last edited: Jul 6, 2011
    Certifications: A+, MS 70-680
    WIP: MS 70-640
  2. Apexes

Apexes Gigabyte Poster

Don't even answer her call

You will never walk into a job with VM, MCITP, and CCNA without prior experience, it just doesn't happen, and you certainly can't learn all of those courses in 7 months, without any experience in a corporate environment.

Your best bet is to self study, starting WITH the A+ - get an entry level job and work your way up.

EDIT: also don't look at courses on par with these guys, £7,500 for a course? not a chance, they're ripping you off.

Self studying all 3 of those courses would cost you no more than £1000, maybe even less

also looking on their site at the infrastructure they use, and i guess train you on - they have a 13 year old Nokia firewall & the cisco switches in the rack are years out of date.

Last edited: Jul 6, 2011
    Certifications: 70-243 MCTS: ConfigMgr 2012 | MCSE: Private Cloud
  3. barrixrock

barrixrock Bit Poster

Understood! Apexes...

any idea where I might do entry level jobs

4. Apexes

Apexes Gigabyte Poster

Anywhere with a large user base.