new to the forums

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by sgtgeneraljohn, Jul 1, 2011.

1. sgtgeneraljohn

sgtgeneraljohn New Member

thought i would join as i am studying the mcts 70-680 windows 7 the only thing i hate is why do i need a cert to get my foot in the door if i have the experence and a uni degree it defeats the purpose i smell a rat

Last edited: Jul 1, 2011
  2. Apexes

Apexes Gigabyte Poster

Unfortunately degree's count for naff all in most IT jobs.

How much experience have you got, and in which job / environment?

There are no rats - you won't get an electricians job without a sparky certification...

Certifications: 70-243 MCTS: ConfigMgr 2012 | MCSE: Private Cloud
  3. Kopite_21

Kopite_21 Gigabyte Poster

Welcome to CF!

Certifications: National Diploma IT Advanced ECDL
    WIP: A+
  4. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

There are numerous debates on here regarding degrees vs certification and how experience trumps both. I suggest you do a forum search and read up.
    Welcome to CF and good luck with your future aspirations 8)

Certifications: C&G Electronics - MCSA (W2K) MCSE (W2K)
  5. Apoc220

Apoc220 Byte Poster

As you may be aware, sometimes experience alone doesn't get you the job. If they have two or three similar candidates then the one with some certs on his CV is the one who will stand out. I don't have a uni degree, but my experiences in the military and so far in the civilian side have gotten me far. However, I've begun the cert path in order to gain knowledge and bolster my resume. The way I see it, you have to do everything you can to show up the next guy in this environment. It can only help you to attain some certifications, imho. Anyway, welcome to the forums and good luck with your studies!

Certifications: MCDST
    WIP: 70-680
  6. nugget
    Honorary Member

nugget Junior toady

Hi and welcome to the forum.:)