New Member from Down Under

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by IamJasen, Aug 30, 2012.

1. IamJasen

IamJasen New Member

Hi guys, new to the forum... Some background, I have been in IT for almost 7 years. At the moment working in a helpdesk role at a government department. Previously worked at a few ISP's also in helpdesk roles.

I have a Diploma in Network Engineering and looking to boost my career with some certifications, mainly as I am finding it difficult to find opportunities working outside of support. I have also pondered moving to Europe as I hold EU nationality, however I have heard on the grapevine the job market isn't the best at the moment?

Looking forward to meeting some new people around the forums. I am sure all of you will provide plenty of helpful advice :)

2. Coupe2T

Coupe2T Megabyte Poster

Welcome to CF. The job market is a little bit bumpy to say the least at the moment, certainly in the UK. There are still plenty of jobs about, just lots of people going for them.

I assume from what you have written you are interested in a Network type role, so in terms of Certs etc I would say the Cisco CCNA etc as the best place to start. I think the Cisco certs are generally seen as the best in the industry by a majority of employers when looking for networking people, although this obviously isn't always the case.

Good luck with whatever you choose to do.

Certifications: ECDL, Does that Count!?!
  3. maggotfude

maggotfude New Member

Welcome aboard. I think you'll find a tough job market pretty much everywhere. Though from what I have heard, IT has it a lot easier than many other segments. Good luck.

4. jvanassen

jvanassen Kilobyte Poster

Welcome! :) From my experience of trying to break into my first IT support role at the beginning of this year there was plenty of jobs there, i was applying for literally hundreds but they just all wanted experienced people.

Certifications: CompTIA A+, Network+, CCENT
    WIP: ICND2 200-101