New and confused

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by OnFire, Feb 2, 2005.

1. OnFire

OnFire Nibble Poster

Hi all,

After 10 years of messing around in dead end jobs I have decided to do what I always wanted to do and get into IT. I'm currently off sick at the moment recovering from a motorcycle accident so I wanna start studying asap while I have the time.

I have had Computeach around here and their quote for CompTIA A+ and MCSE is.......£4700. I only wish they would tell you the price earlier in the meeting so I can save on a teabag, and show him the door.

So I have decided to self study. This is the plan for the route I want to take in terms of exams:

CompTIA A+
    70-270
    70-290
    70-291
    70-293
    70-294
    70-298
    70-299

Ultimately looking for a career in PC/Network support, starting at the bottom in hopefully a helpdesk.

Just for a bit of my background nearly all of my PC knowledge is self taught in my own time. Built around 20+ computers for family and friends, set up home networks, raid arrays, bios editing and flashing, overclocking, registry editing and played a hell of a lotta games. Also did a year course of Pascal programming at college but not really looking at the programming side as I dont beleive it have the same prospects of "looking busy when your not".

So then, just a few questions:

1. I'm under the impression employers would like to see security qualifications too, would I be best adding CompTIA Security+ exam to my list or is there a better one to take, perhaps Microsoft based?

2. Is my list correct to earn the MCSE with a view to a networking/pc support role?

3. How do the certificates work, i.e once I have done one exam, like 70-290, am I then a MCP? If so how many do you take for a MCSA. And more so, do you get an extra certificate at the end of the seven exams to say your a MCSE, or is it just accepted that if you have seven, then you are one.