.Net Developer Interview

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Fergal1982, Feb 23, 2007.

1. Fergal1982

Fergal1982 Petabyte Poster

I just got a phonecall from an agency i signed up for the other day. The asked me to jazz up my CV to put more emphasis on my development skills before they passed it through to the client.

The called back just now to say that the client had looked at my CV and wanted to interview me. So i now have an appointment for a Developer position Monday morning. Its with the IT Directory, the MD, and one of the Developers, so i suspect that theres going to be technical questions.

Im Sh*tting it a little here. My CV plays up my experience and doesnt actually indicate when in my current role i started programming properly (november). Im hoping i dont make a complete tit of myself here. I suspect that they're going to ask me how i would achieve certain things, and im going to have to admit ignorance.

Certifications: ITIL Foundation; MCTS: Visual Studio Team Foundation Server 2010, Administration
    WIP: None at present
  2. wizard

wizard Petabyte Poster

As long as you are truthful and don't try and BS them, then you should be ok.

Certifications: SIA DS Licence
    WIP: A+ 2009
  3. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Better to admit ignorance than to provide an ignorant answer. :D Personally, I admire a tech who is truthful about his/her limitations and doesn't resort to BS.

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  4. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

A lot of development is down to interpretation of the specs, rather than code itself.

If they give you a scenario to look over before the interview, prepare loads of questions about it. If they 'drop you in it', play dumb.