Need some career advice

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by JohnBradbury, Jan 10, 2008.

1. JohnBradbury

JohnBradbury Kilobyte Poster

I've been working in the industry for just on ten years now and managed to land my first ever role straight out of school. I've been very lucky in the past and landed roles with some well know IT companies. At my peak [almost 4 years ago] I got a second stage interview with Microsoft but due to a family situation I called and had them take my name off the list.

Basically I've been a freelance contractor since day one and worked all over the country. Now with two young kids and feeling a bit longer in the teeth I really want to settle into a permanent job close to home.

I finished my last role in November and I've been looking ever since. The market seems really slow right now and I'm not getting much back from agencies.

I started out in desktop support but for the past two years I've been working in Wintel Server Support. It was a great experience and I managed to impress my managers, unfortunately the company was in the process of moving the tech teams to India so no permanent job was available.

Anyway looking at my CV it's now filled with tons of short term roles [although the last role was 18 months]. I really think it's hurting me. I can also expect my income to drop significantly in a local permanent role but I'm prepared for that.

I guess I'm just a little frustrated right now and wondered what you guys thought I should do?

2. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster