N+ advice needed

Discussion in 'Network+' started by Stevie, Apr 9, 2007.

1. Stevie

Stevie Byte Poster

Hi guys, I'm currently studying for my A+, and when I've finished it I'm debating about doing the N+ or the MCDST.

I have been repairing/upgrading/building PC's for nearly 12 years now, mostly family and friends though, hece the reason I'm doing the A+ now. I also have limited experience/knowledge in setting up and using networks (home ones, but hey, it's still a network :D).

When I do the N+, I'm thinking about setting up a proper PC network, with a server etc to get some experience as I go along. Also, if an employer sees this, then it will help show that I'm determined. I'm planning on using my loft for the network build, however, if it is too big then I can use the double sized garage for it. What I want to know is, with setting up a network with a server, etc to get some practise with, how many PC's am I going to have to get?

The plan is to get some cheapish crappy PC's off of eBay to use the test network with.

WIP: A+, Network+, Security+
  2. Arroryn

Arroryn we're all dooooooomed Moderator

Hey Stevie,

Theoretically, the maximum you need for a network is 2 PCs!

I don't think you need to go heavily into kit for the N+, as a lot of the questions aren't on hardware configuration.

However, you will need to know your NOS's. The kit setup is a great idea, and if you've got the space, go for it. I tried to sneak a rack in to my parent's for my Cisco kit, and they told me to *get it out*. Rubbish!

The 'cheapest' way to do this though, and to get down and dirty with all the operating systems you'll need to check out, would be to have a vaguely decent system running Virtual PC, or VMWare, or any product of that ilk. That way, you can replicate the environment without the threat of a dozen PCs falling through your loft.

Ergo, I suggest 2 or 3 PCs, Virtual PC (or similair) and a hub or switch to practise with.