MSCE Courses in London

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by olig23, Dec 9, 2009.

1. olig23

olig23 New Member

Hi Guys, I am newly registered here as you can no doubt see. Essentially, I work for an educational software business in Canary Wharf and the company have offered to pay for me to study for my MCSE. While I appreciate their faith and willingness to spend money on my development I think it is important to ensure this is the right course to be studying and that if I do go ahead that I am getting a good standard of training to make it worthwhile.

At the moment I run the 3rd line technical support department but the company would also like to use me as backup network admin. It is a reasonably small office and currently things are under pretty much under the control of one person so i think they would like to remove all of their proverbial eggs from the one basket...

I have some experience with the servers, but nothing official. I am aware many people recommend self-teaching, and I have set-up VMware of server 2003 on my home PC, but this being my first qualification I think getting some classroom experience might be a good thing. At the end of the day I think that if i am going to move onwards and make a decent career in IT I need to have something on paper which will open some doors and the Microsoft certifications seem like a good place to start.

With that in mind I was hoping someone could answer a few questions:

Is the MCSE too ambitious given my current experience?

If so what is good place to start?

For those courses could anyone recommend a good place to get the training in London, ideally outside of standard working hours?

Last edited: Dec 9, 2009
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster