Microsoft Certified Trainer Advice

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by cosway, May 25, 2010.

1. cosway

cosway Nibble Poster

Ok
    This is a bit of an odd post, but here goes...

I work as a Network Manager in a Comprehensive School, part of my job description is the provision of training of staff, computer use related, Ms Office 2007 that sort of thing...:(

I've got a training & development budget for myself, I've been looking at the Microsoft Certified Trainer Cert, I know I will have to get the Cert for the course to be taught, but one of the requirements is...

"Specify how you have proven your instructional skills and which course you completed to meet the requirement. New candidates must mail or fax proof of meeting this requirement as part of their application"

I've spent all morning clicking links on the Ms website and just keep going around in circles, Does anyone know what courses Microsoft request that you complete to prove your instructional skills?

Has anybody else been down this road before, and would like to talk me out if it (please?):eek:

Certifications: MCDST, MCSA, A+
    WIP: MCSE
  2. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

Well, you need to think if you actually need the MCT qualification for what you describe.
    MS Learning Solutions Partners need to provide training through MCTs using official course material but there is no requirement to be an MCT in order to deliver on-the-job training to staff in the workplace.

If you do want to go for it though, and you aren't already a trainer by profession, the best way would be to attend a train the trainer course somewhere or pass a relevant cert like CTT.

If you do become an MCT you will also need to meet the program requirements each year (and pay the annual fee) all of which can be a bit of an embuggerance.

Certifications: MCT, MCTS, i-Net+, CIW CI, Prince2, MSP, MCSD
  3. Josiahb

Josiahb Gigabyte Poster

and theres my new word of the week.