MCSA help

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by Jonezy101, Dec 3, 2008.

1. Jonezy101

Jonezy101 New Member

Hey everyone. I'm new here (I've already posted in the newbie forum :) and basically, I want and need as much help as I can get and I know all you good people are more than willing to do that!

My ultimate goal is to achieve an MCSA and have a challenging and enjoyable career that's fun and pays the bills too. 'Cause it needs to be done at the end of the day. I'm new to IT bar a GNVQ at pass level when I was 16 (I'm nearly 19 now) and I passed my computers in music module on my college course which I graduated in June.

ANYWAY enough of the rambling. I've decided to go down the self-study route to achieve and pass the exams and things I need to be able to get to MCSA level, so my main questions are;

Which "entry-level" exams should I study for first?
    CompTIA A+ or MCDST? and reasons why I should go for your reccommendation

What self-study techniques can I employ?
    Like making notes, etc. to help me learn as easy as possible

What options are there after MCSA if I wanted to go further?
    Slef explanatory

Thank you in advance for your replies :)

Certifications: Does a GNVQ count??
    WIP: undecided at the moment
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

I would recommend A+ first, then Network+, then MCDST. That's the logical order. The A+ is vendor-neutral, and covers things that are MOST relevant to an entry-level tech.

Whatever works for you. Everyone is different. What works for me might be different from what works for you. What I like to do is to get hands-on experience with a product, read a book (or two), take a high-quality practice exam to see if I'm ready for the real thing, then go take the exam.