MCITP - Support Technician or Administrator?

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by olp01, Jan 16, 2012.

1. olp01

olp01 New Member

Hi all just started studying for exam 70-680.

I don't know what would be best for me to do after though, out of these 2 options...

MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Support Technician on Windows 7
    Exam 70-680
    Exam 70-685

or

MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Administrator on Windows 7
    Exam 70-680
    Exam 70-686

I currently work as a 2nd line ICT technician and would like to stay in that field, but on more moneys and also getting more involved with 3rd line stuff.
    Which one of this 2 MCITP's are more relevant to me?

Thanks in advance for any replies!

2. RichyV

RichyV Megabyte Poster

I'd say definitely EDST7.

Desktop Administration is quite a 'niche' area but remember that you can 'use' your 680 towards multiple certifications, so there's nothing to stop you adding EDA7 after completing the EDST7.

I'm certainly looking at this as my next step, although 70-640 may be a better way forward for me at the moment as I may be coming to the end of my current contract this year and it has changed over the last 18 months from purely Desktop to including much more server-side stuff...

HTH

Certifications: B.Sc.(Hons), MBCS. MCP (271,272), MCDST, MCTS (680), MCITP:EDST7, MCSA:WIN7, MCPS, MCNPS
    WIP: 70-686, then onto MCSE: Desktop Infrastructure via MCSA: Server 2012...
  3. Boffy

Boffy Megabyte Poster

Welcome to Cert Forums!

Go for the DST which is 70-680 and 70-685 exams.

The 70-686 is heavily focused on enterprise deployment and system life cycles - something that you won't really experience until you are given charge of deployments.

Also, a lot of the 70-686 content would (hopefully) already exist in the enterprise environment.

Certifications: BSc Computer Game Technology, A+
    WIP: MOS 2010
  4. olp01

olp01 New Member

Thanks for the replies!