MCITP Query

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by Crazydave1990, Jul 18, 2012.

1. Crazydave1990

Crazydave1990 Bit Poster

Hi Guys,

I'm currently studying the CCNA (in my own time, not taking the exam yet or anything), and I've realised simply having the CCNA wouldn't really be enough to help me get a job, so I'm also looking at the MCITP.

I was just wondering, where is the best place to start with this, as alot of the books I've read seem to be throwing me in at the deep-end, so to speak... with little or no explanation to what things are...

Help please guys

2. Boffy

Boffy Megabyte Poster

Hi Dave, what type of experience do you have in the IT world?

MCITP's are for someone with at least a years experience. They're not for learning a system, but rather proving you know it. Of course there are parts you might not know in full depth, but you should at least have some knowledge of whatever you're certifying in.

The same goes for a CCNA. Unless you're using Cisco equipment, the certification is just a piece of paper and a deterrant for most employers.

Certifications: BSc Computer Game Technology, A+
    WIP: MOS 2010
  3. Beerbaron

Beerbaron Megabyte Poster

You could start with the Win 7 desktop MCPs first or get a good a broad basic knowledge from doing the A+ and N+ before starting the MCITP.

Certifications: BSc (Hons), MSc, ITIL v3F, MCP, MCDST, MCITP: edst7, MCTS, MCSA: Server 2003, MCSA: Windows 7, N+, NVQ IT lvl 3, MCSA Windows 7, VCP5, CCENT, CEH
    WIP: CISSP
  4. Crazydave1990

Crazydave1990 Bit Poster

thanks for your reply, I've currently got an FdSc in Computer Science - I've got programming knowledge etc, but on my course they ever really taught us much in regards of what a company actually needs, I feel like my qual is pretty damn useless tbh.