MCAD and ASP.Net 2.0

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by PMonkeyM, Jan 19, 2006.

1. PMonkeyM

PMonkeyM New Member

Hi there, i have over 5 years web development experience and over 2 years DotNet experience, but after my MSc, i havnt really formalise my knowledge with a qualification. I was thinking about doing an MCAD, however with the intro of ASP.Net 2.0, i am wondering whether the MCAD is going to be out of date before i even start it, and looking at the MCPD was wondering is this the next version of the MCAD and MCSD. If anyone is knowledgeable about these different qualification can you :) please tell me what the main differences are? Also whether i have decided on the MCAD too late and maybe should just concentrate on doing the MCPD. I look forward to hearing from anyone that can offer relevant advice. Thanks

2. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

You can't really start to second guess the 'lifespan' of a technology. Personally I would suggest that you start out in an established technology before you move on to new stuff.
    ASP 2.0 is out now, but not everyone is using it. There's not much info on the exams as they are just being beta'd.
    There aren't that many books out there (compared to 1.0) and you won't find many places teaching it.

ASP 1.0 is well established and you will find plenty of support and resources. The IT industry moves fairly fast and you do spend your life trying to keep up. But it's a bit of a myth that you have to throw yourself at the first sniff of a new technology.

There is an upgrade exam from MCAD to MCPD so you can do that later.

Certifications: MCT, MCTS, i-Net+, CIW CI, Prince2, MSP, MCSD
  3. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

Hi.

Sorry i can't really answer but i know a man who can who will hopefully be posting very soon. :)

EDIT

Wow, you must have read my mind johnny :thumbleft

Certifications: MCSA 2003, MCDST, A+, N+, CTT+, MCT
  4. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster