LPI Linux Cert

Discussion in 'Other IT certifications' started by highland_lad, Jun 27, 2007.

1. highland_lad

highland_lad New Member

Hi,

I have been using linux for about 2 years now in a work environment and about 6 years on my own so I was looking into getting a few certs under my belt.

I was thinking about going for LPI certs and have done a bit of googling for some sort of self-study guide. I came across these 2 sites

LPI Linux Certification in a Nutshell

http://www.happy-monkey.net/LPI/

Are any of these still relevant to the current exam? Can anyone recommend a book to buy for studying ?

Any advice would be great :D

2. Robster

Robster New Member

The book you referenced on Amazon is only a year old so I would have thought it would be fine. From what I know the underlying workings of Linux don't change very quickly anyway.

I had been looking into doing a certification myself and came across this training provider who do LPI 101, 102, 201, 202 as a series of week long full time courses:
    http://www.mewe.org.uk/index.php?option=com_content&task=category&sectionid=8&id=26&Itemid=46

If you are already quite experienced with Linux maybe this is not so suitable.

EDIT: Also maybe you could contact the LPI and see if they have past papers you can get hold of.

3. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

Yes, at least visiting the site of the organization that administers these exams (there are three separate certs) would be a good idea. Here's the link:

http://www.lpi.org/en/lpi/english

How much do you know about administering Linux at the moment? If you know little, then you've got a lot of studying to do. Of course, you'll want at least one Linux machine around (either Debian-based or Red Hat-based) to practice on.

Certifications: A+ and Network+
  4. ffreeloader

ffreeloader Terabyte Poster