Linux YES or NO

Discussion in 'Software' started by asam.shan, Apr 22, 2008.

1. asam.shan

asam.shan Nibble Poster

I am thinking of installing Linux on to my PC maybe a dual boot along with Vista. I was just wondering if anyone has done the same or something similar. I have never used any Linux OS before and am wanting to know how difficult it could be to get to grips with it and whether you guys think its a good or bad move for me to make.

I would be greatful for anyones opinion and thanks in advance.

Certifications: n/a
    WIP: a+, network+, CCNA
  2. TimoftheC

TimoftheC Kilobyte Poster

Hi Assam.

My PC at home dual boots to XP Pro and Ubuntu. In fact, it used to be able to boot to Win98, XP and Ubuntu but I got a separate machine for win98 so I changed that.

I don't get on to Ubuntu much to be honest as have other stuff to do but a dual boot between windows and a Linux distro is very common.

As for difficulty, that depends on your own level of ability with computers and software. I did have some problems setting up Ubuntu and the wireless set-up was a real bitch, however, the community supporting Ubuntu is excellent and there are some detailed posts on there to help you.

I can't comment on the other distro's of Linux but I'm sure someone can help ya out there.

Have you tried creating a "live disk" for a Linux distro and just trying it out? That could be an option if you want to have a look at the feel of what's available.

Hope that helps.

Certifications: A+; Network+
    WIP: MCDST???
  3. asam.shan

asam.shan Nibble Poster

Thanks i will try the CD out first. I was also wondering how easy it is to boot one or the other, as i am not the only person using the computer but i am the onlyone with any knowledge at all, so i will have to teach my gf to boot windows (may sound easy but she is blonde(no offence to any other blondes using the forum) and does not have any knowledge to anything technical):D

4. ffreeloader

ffreeloader Terabyte Poster