Linux virgin

Discussion in 'Linux / Unix Discussion' started by Rostros22, Oct 26, 2005.

1. Rostros22

Rostros22 Kilobyte Poster

Hi

I have never used linux before and seeing as I have built myself a test lab I wanted to 'have a look' so to speak.

A friend at work uses mandrake and seems to be ok with it. I am going to look at ubuntu as Mr Boyce on here displays it! And I hear there is one that 'looks and feels' like windows.

Could anybody suggest what I should start with to get a feel for the linux environment?

Many thanks

Certifications: ITIL Certs, F.A.S.T Auditor Certs
    WIP: None - Application with Police
  2. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

Hi,

I am by no means a Linux tutor of any flavour but since Phoenix recommended Ubuntu i haven't booted into XP since! :)

I think it is well worth learning and teaches you about computing rather than just wizards like in Windows.

I suggest you dual boot your current set-up. That way you can always play when you want to. :biggrin

Don't forget there is a Live CD which you can play with and won't touch your hard drive.

Certifications: MCSA 2003, MCDST, A+, N+, CTT+, MCT
  3. Rostros22

Thanks - I was going down the dual boot option but just didn't know if there was a major difference bewteen all the versions out there?

I have been told, as you have said boyce, that linux will 'wake' you up to your machine. :biggrin

As I said I have never used it so just wanted some input really. I have booted a live cd before and basically looked at it, rebooted and went into windows again! :oops:

4. ffreeloader

ffreeloader Terabyte Poster

If you are going to use a Live CD I'd recommend going with Knoppix. It's by far the best Live CD OS going. It has the best hardware detection is the "fastest" of all the Live CD's when being run.