Linux Questions

Discussion in 'Linux / Unix Discussion' started by craigie, Feb 21, 2009.

1. craigie

craigie Terabyte Poster

Hi all, I'm thinking of setting up a Linux Virtual Machine, to have a tinker around with.

I'm a complete Linux newb, so have not got any idea!

Just started to download Ubuntu to get slightly familar with a Linux environment.

What products are used commerically in an Enterprise environement for things such as File, Print and Web Servers are these Red Hat or something else.

I have read some of the posts here, but would like some guidance.

Certifications: CCA | CCENT | CCNA | CCNA:S | HP APC | HP ASE | ITILv3 | MCP | MCDST | MCITP: EA | MCTS:Vista | MCTS:Exch '07 | MCSA 2003 | MCSA:M 2003 | MCSA 2008 | MCSE | VCP5-DT | VCP4-DCV | VCP5-DCV | VCAP5-DCA | VCAP5-DCD | VMTSP | VTSP 4 | VTSP 5
  2. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

I've seen Solaris, Redhat and CentOs used for web servers. Linux is big in HPC space too.

3. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

We tend to use Debian for such things, but it isn't an absolute.

Note that Debian is the underlying OS for Ubuntu.

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  4. loneferret

loneferret Byte Poster

That would depend on what the linux box is used for. LAMP install (Linux / Apache / MySql / PHP) is pretty commun and offered as an installtion option on a few flavours if I recall. I've never used Ubuntu, but heard it's pretty good to start with. Once you've meddled around with the intallation using the GUI, I'd suggest re-installing it command line only. For example, if you've configured an Apache server using the KDE GUI, try and do the same using the command line only.

But that's my 2 cents, I could be wrong...

Certifications: MCDST/N+/L+/i-Net+/CIW/OSCP/OSCE
    WIP: MCTS 70-662
  5. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster