Linux+ and Network+?

Discussion in 'Linux+' started by Malnomates, Sep 13, 2006.

1. Malnomates

Malnomates Megabyte Poster

I'm currently studying for Network+,which incorporates some basic understanding of Linux (amongst others).I'm considering taking a Linux+ course alongside Network+ to give myself some grounding in other OS's administrative heirarchy in terms of network support and experience with systems outside of Microsoft. I'm undecided on this one,as Network+ is taking what little free time I have to spare and perhaps taking the Linux+ course AFTER I've completed N+ might be a better option?

I do have the option of installing and getting first hand experience of Linux (probably SUSE),what do you think?

Certifications: A+ Network+
  2. GmanUK

GmanUK Byte Poster

Hi Malnomates

Hmmm...if you can do both Linux+ & Network+ side by side and take them together you are a better man than I am!! Honestly, I would concentrate on N+ then consider your next one!

It took me a 2 1/2 months to revise and pass the N+ and thinking back, if I had to include study for the Linux+ exam I think I would have gone brain dead! This is coming from a guy who has spent many a happy hour setting up Linux servers!! Its not so much of the hardness of the exam but all the cold hard data that you need to understand!

Whatever your decision, good luck :thumbleft

Certifications: CompTIA N+, Server+, CCSN, ITILv3 (f)
    WIP: MCITP Security
  3. Malnomates

Thanks for the advice gman.I'll stick with N+ then look at the options for expanding into other operating systems later on.N1 fella..8)

4. GmanUK

GmanUK Byte Poster

I think thats the right thing to do.

The good thing about the N+ sylabus is that it gives the reviser the option of reading further into the subjet if wanted. I learnt alot from reading something in the N+ coursework then digging a bit deeper somewhere else...you will be surprised. :biggrin

Certifications: CompTIA N+, Server+, CCSN, ITILv3 (f)