Just where do NICs and WAPs operate?

Discussion in 'Network+' started by iSiDiS, Jul 25, 2006.

1. iSiDiS

iSiDiS Bit Poster

Hi People

Im studying for my Network+ at the minute, and using the Sybex (Groth) book (fourth edition). It says that a NIC operates at both the physical and data link layers of the OSI model, but in other texts I've red they say it only operates at the Physical level. This is also the case with WAPs (the Groth book states it only operates at the data link layer, but other texts say data link and physical).

My question is simple - does anyone have a definitive answer - i know its only a small point, but thats me i'm afraid - i just dont like not being sure!

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

Certifications: A+, Network+, 640-821, 640-811, 640-553
    WIP: MCSE
  2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

In most cases these days both operate at the phy and Datalink level.

Most modern NICs and APs have a processor on board, and as well as the hardware doing the physical bit that processor does a lot of the Datalink work as well. This helps to offload some work from the main machine.

I'm at a loss to see how a AP *doesn't* operate at the physical layer. Are you sure you have quoted that right? (Page number? - I have that book)

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  3. Baba O'Riley

Baba O'Riley Gigabyte Poster

Anything with a MAC address must operate at the MAC sublayer of the Datalink layer as this is the layer that deals with physical addressing.

As for a plain and simple WAP, it's basically just a wireless bridge or switch so I would say they operate at the datalink layer in the same way (Harry, confirmed Groth says this is the case, page 66). How could it operate at the physical layer when there is no physical media involved?