Joined today advice on mcse please

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by beaumontdvd, Dec 14, 2009.

1. beaumontdvd

beaumontdvd Kilobyte Poster

Hi, i've started an MCSE with computrain, I have found their learning material poor and their communication digraceful. I have to finish the course by the end of March, or I have lost the 3grand I paid for the course. (As I would not have my MCSE). I have passed my 271 but needed to purchase additional learning material. I am ready for my 272 but want to make sure im fully prepared. Just looking for some advice on the MCSE, and experiences people have had with COMPUTRAIN. Appologies if this is the wrong forum for this post as im still a newbie!

Thanks in advance,

Last edited: Dec 14, 2009
    Certifications: 070-271, 070-272, (MCDST)Level 1,2,3 NVQ
    WIP: 070-270, A+, N+, S+,MCDST 7 Upgrade
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

I cant really advise you on computrain as I have never used a training provider but if you are unhappy with their material why not complain to them?

also you could get the MS press books of amazon.

Also I would check if you haven't been mis-sold the course. Do you actually work in IT? Do you know that you are supposed to have 12-18 months experience as a systems engineer before gaining the MCSE? Certs like MCSA/MCSE are supposed to show your work experience level and are not designed for people who want to work in IT.

But since your on the course and have paid you might aswell finish it, just be prepared to hide your MCSE on your cv when applying for jobs.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. beaumontdvd

Thanks for the reply,