Job upgrades - certs required

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by asmdroid, May 21, 2009.

1. asmdroid

asmdroid New Member

Hi Guys,

I have been an IT Engineer for the past 2 and a bit years and have had some heavy involvement with Technology for the past 8 Years.

I am working in 1st-3rd Line Support in a Smaller Company doing IT for SMEs in suburbian areas and the city. The pay could be far better for the skills that I have. I am at the stage where having a cert would be very useful - as a stepping stone. I have a very short lunch break and by the time I come home, I am completely shattered and want to switch off for a bit and relax. Question is: I can either try to push the boundaries, and self-study, or I can try and use a fast-track service to help with the discipline. Now, I have tried the former, and it's been hard to do.

What do you guys recommend? Anyone been in this position?

Cheers.

WIP: 70-270
  2. dazza786

dazza786 Megabyte Poster

I'm in that position now mate.
    1st-3rd, low pay etc

I've started cracking on with the certs now that i've realised i've stopped gaining from this company. As they're a small company, a few people have been made redundant recently and as a result of that I've been given additional tasks which are quite tedious and take up a lot of time. I feel as though I'm 'de-learning'.

I understand what you mean about being shattered but you will feel the rewards when you become certified (or so i keep telling myself!). Generally I read/watch CBT videos at lunch and when I get home, do an hour or so on the home lab. It's not a strict schedule, but I always make sure i've done at least 3 hours a day.

Try making yourself a timetable and see what you're like for a week, see if it benefits you. Also taking the odd day off helps, a Monday would probably be better, and just spend that day (9-5) reading and learning.

Eitherway.. good luck!