IT Support experience, which qualifications?

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by jameister, Jul 21, 2009.

1. jameister

jameister Bit Poster

Hi All

I wanted to ask advise on exams/qualifications. I work as an IT Support engineer for a fairly large corporate company in London, and started out doing this role as my first Job on the IT ladder. I completed the Cerco Certified Intensive training Course for 1 month which enabled me with the the basic knowledge and my way into the IT career.

As I have now been working in a support role for the last 2 and a half years I'm looking at completing some qualifications to back-up the role I'm doing, a sit seems I have the experience but not the certification to match?

So my question is what qualifications should I go for. A+, N+, MCDST or should I grab the bull by the horns and go straight into an MCSE?

Thanks in advance

Jamie

Certifications: CCSN, A+, Network+
    WIP: 70-680
  2. Qs

Qs Semi-Honorary Member Gold Member

It's probably best that you read around the forums a bit first before posting. Here's a relevant thread which should open your eyes. Link Pay particular attention to BosonMichael's posts.

As a general rule of thumb go A+, N+, MCDST -> onwards.

Take care not to become overcertified and only gain certifications relevant to your experience level.

:)

Hope this helps, welcome to the forums.

Qs

Certifications: MCT, MCSE: Private Cloud, MCSA (2008), MCITP: EA, MCITP: SA, MCSE: 2003, MCSA: 2003, MCITP: EDA7, MCITP: EDST7, MCITP: EST Vista, MCTS: Exh 2010, MCTS:ServerVirt, MCTS: SCCM07 & SCCM2012, MCTS: SCOM07, MCTS: Win7Conf, MCTS: VistaConf, MCDST, MCP, MBCS, HND: Applied IT, ITIL v3: Foundation, CCA
  3. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster