Is mine a hopeless case?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by bretfrag, Jun 11, 2014.

1. bretfrag

bretfrag New Member

Hi all.

First of all: great forum: very informative. Nice one.

Now here's my situation:

Basically I want to switch my career to IT and be some sort of IT technician. Trouble is I have no academic background in IT, nor a great deal of practical experience. I think I'm reasonably good with computers on an intuitive level and I'm for sure interested in computers, but that's about it.

Now I was tempted to go with JustIT whose Network Professional Programme and 'lifetime' career support seemed like just the ticket for getting a foot quickly on the ladder. But having met with one of their representatives and looked at course prices, it transpires this isn't a viable option for me. I can't afford £4000. Moreover, having read some of the objections to training providers on here, to wit that they're massively exorbitant next to the cost of self-study, I'm not sure I would if I could.

So what I'd like to know is the minimum resources I need to learn enough to get an entry level job as an IT support technician: as in, what certificates should I go for, and how should I best go about preparing myself to acquire them.

I've seen CompTIA A+ mentioned a lot on here and people saying you could study this with a guide and then book and pass the exams yourself, but could I literally learn enough just from reading the book? Another thing I lack: a PC. I have a laptop, but I'm assuming if I'm to learn hardware troubleshooting, I'm going to need access to at least one PC. This seems to me to be one of the advantages of doing the course via a training provider which will be able to provide access to a lab. But I've not seen any mention of the necessity of tinkering around with hardware in connection with self-study here, so I hold out hope that this isn't necessarily an obstacle for me.