Is it worth doing?

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by dpatel, Mar 27, 2009.

1. dpatel

dpatel New Member

Hello people,

I need some advice and help regarding MCDST!

I am trying to get into a Helpdesk role and then work my way up the ladder but every job i applied for i have always had rejection letters.

I am graduate of Multimedia & Internet Technology but this is kinda of getting old now cos i graduated in 2005. I have no experience in the IT sector as i have worked in retail management since graduating.

I am now looking to get into IT as i have had the misfortune of loosing my job due to current situation. ive decided to try an enhance my possibilites and do a training course.

Is MCDST the right course for me or should i be doing another one??
    Also where is the best place to go for the training courses because i dont want to get ripped off.

Cheers

2. Pheonicks56

Pheonicks56 Kilobyte Poster

Please introduce yourself in the intro forum before asking advice from the community, on that note:

Your best course of action is start with CompTIA's A+ and Network+ then work on MCDST. The A+ and N+ will help you with MCDST and it is a bit tougher, so the former will help you get back in to study mode and teach you how certification studying and testing work. Good luck.

Certifications: BSIT, AAIT, A+
    WIP: Network+
  3. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

what he said^

Plus you do not need to do a course you can get the books and study yourself thus stopping the chances of getting ripped of and you can do it at your own pace.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  4. dpatel

dpatel New Member

i didnt know that you can just sit the exams sounds good that. you know how much it will cost to sit them.
    how lond does it take on average to be ready for the exams.

5. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster