Investing in an A+ certification.

Discussion in 'A+' started by strangeupquark, Mar 29, 2005.

1. strangeupquark

strangeupquark Bit Poster

Ok, first thread I've started on the forum, and I'll likely ask questions that have been covered before. But here goes.

I've decided to get back into certification, and really like the look of the A+.

I have followed several of the link to training vendors from the forum, and had a look at prices etc. I was wondering if completely self taught was a viable alternative to registering with a training vendor. Some of the posts in other similar threads have suggested buying study guides and exam guides, and then just paying for the exams at the end. Several of the training vendors seem to imply on their websites that there are 5 days classroom studies as part of the course content. Am I correct in this, or am I misreading the sites content?

Either way, I plan on calling my local Prometric Testing Center (BIC Systems in Belfast) and try to find out if they test for this certification, and their cost for the tests themselves.

Any advise is greatly appreciated. :D

Thanks in advance.

Brian.

WIP: A+
  2. punkboy101
    Honorary Member

punkboy101 Back from the wilderness

OK, basicly how you go about it is up to you really. If it is your first qualification, and you are not that farmiliar with the workings of a PC, I say go for the course route. However, you can always try self study first, and if that dosn't work, you can go the course route. It's down to personal preference. Self study does take a hell of alot of self motivation tho, there is always that game/book/tv/girlfriend/whatever there to distract you and take up your free time. :D