Interview for Junior IT Support Engineer

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by ukspeedster, Oct 25, 2006.

1. ukspeedster

ukspeedster Nibble Poster

Hi all,
    I have an interview with an IT outsourcing company next week for a trainee junior position in IT support. The job role involves auditing IT assets, maintenance and support for IT systems, and configuration of servers in data centres.
    I have some experience in IT support within Windows.
    When I spoke to the HR lady she said it was a training role and had good career prospects (they fund your MS certs).
    I was just wondering if anyone could give me some tips and advice on the interview. What kind of questions would they possibly ask me for a trainee type position as a Junior IT support Engineer.
    Also, how would you answer the "what kind of salary are you looking for?" question! (i know the range, but as its a trainee role im not sure what I should be asking for!)

Certifications: BSc(Hons), ITIL, MCP
    WIP: MCSA 2003, CCNA
  2. Pete01

Pete01 Kilobyte Poster

For the interview just try and be yourself as much as possible. They will probably ask lots of questions to try and work out how efficient you are.

How customer focused are you, how can you cope with pressure, when to delegate, thinking on your feet etc.

Certifications: MCP (NT4) CCNA
    WIP: 70-669, Learning MSI packaging
  3. ukspeedster

Would it possible to give me a list of possible questions that may be asked if thats not too much trouble?

Thanks

4. Pete01

Pete01 Kilobyte Poster

There's no guarantee exactly which questions they will ask, but just be prepared for questions that will try and determine how productive you are and that you have a good understanding of business awareness.

On the other hand they will always ask you if you have any questions for them which is very important that you do. Here is a list of questiosn you can ask them:

http://outstaffhr.net/sampleinterviewquestions.aspx

Hope this helps.