I'm having difficulty deciding what to do - help!

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by ian2403, Jun 27, 2005.

1. ian2403

ian2403 New Member

Hi everyone,

Basically I'm tired of my job and want to move into a career in IT, but I'm having difficutly deciding which is the best way of going about this!

I was thinking of going to the NITLC and doing the Technical and Systems Engineer course. I know there's a lot of parts to this course and it looks fairly daunting, but I figured that if I'm going to part with the huge amount of money that they are asking for, then I may as well get as much out as I can.

Does this sound like a good idea? I've never done a proper computer course before, but I've been troubleshooting problems for just about everybody I know for the last 5 years, so I do have some knowledge of computers (although probably pitiful compared to you guys!!).

Please let me know what you all think as I haven't committed to anything as yet.

Thanks!

Ian

Certifications: BSc (Hons)
  2. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

Ian,

Take a "search" in the employment section.
    Here you will see different opinons for and against each way of acheiving certs and good advice on breaking into IT :D

Certifications: MCSA 2003, MCDST, A+, N+, CTT+, MCT
  3. ian2403

ian2403 New Member

Thanks Boyce for the swift reply :D

I had a quick look in the employment bits as you suggested and I think I might have changed my mind slightly.

Does it sound better to have a bash at A+ and/or Network+ and then see if I can get a job using these qualifications so that I can also get a bit of experience before moving further?

I don't want to be stuck with too many certificates and not enough experience (which I think I may do if I go for everything that I originally planned).