I'm confused.

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by pjrbakery, Aug 2, 2008.

1. pjrbakery

pjrbakery Bit Poster

Hi guys.

I seem to be going around in circles with my research into DBA roles. I have got as far as understanding that I need to have experience. That's fine.
    In terms of knowledge I have a science degree for many years ago but no formal IT qualification. I have looked into completing the ECDL and CompTIA A+ certificates and I understand what they are for and their limitations. That's fine.
    I have found out that SQL is where I need to be heading for and that there are vendor specific versions. That's fine.

This is where I am getting lost.
    Is SQL regarded as a "programming" language? I know that C+, C# etc. are programming languages.
    As entry level study where do I start (having had no programming experience)? Should I learn and practise "SQL" or is there a step/s before this?
    Also I have seen the phrase ".net" quite a lot but I am not sure where this term fits in.

If you could give me a brief overview or link to a thread or website I would be most grateful.

Cheers.

Certifications: None
    WIP: CompTIA A+, C
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

SQL (or called sequel) stands for Structured query language so you could call it a programming language or you could called it very similar to Unix (which is an operating system where it's all done by commands).

Here is a free SQL tutorial http://www.w3schools.com/sql/default.asp

Here is some info on .Net http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Microsoft_.NET#Microsoft_.NET

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. pjrbakery

pjrbakery Bit Poster

Thanks that has helped a bit.

So you do not need to be a trained programmer to learn SQL.
    As I understand it SQL is the tool for using and manipulating databases, but what does one use to create a database from scratch.