ICT Technician Job

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Heidihi, Jan 12, 2009.

1. Heidihi

Heidihi Bit Poster

Hi guys and gal's, haven't been on here a while so happy new year and all that!
    I'm going for a job as an ICT Technician at a local Secondary School, done a bit of general revision, learnt about the school, and general interview techniques etc, I was just wondering if anyone has some pearls of wisdom they would like to share, tips, advice whatever-anything is greatly appriciated
    Thanks!

Certifications: CIW Professional
    WIP: CIW Master: Web Site manager
  2. Big_nath

Big_nath Kilobyte Poster

Hi,
    I am an ICT technician in a secondary school. All i can say is work on your interview skills. Lots of schools run a RM network (RM.com), it is basically 2k3 server with a more user friendly front end. They probably aren't looking for someone who knows everything, so just brush up on the basics. DO you know anything about the IT system the school uses?

Certifications: MCP, MCSA, MCSA:M, MCSE, MCTS
    WIP: A few
  3. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

I'm the IT Manager at a Secondary school - we use a vanilla network with half of our suites running ranger (which we're phasing out), we also support 2 primary schools. You may also want to look at Edugeek, which is a forum based in the Education sector (so you'll see the kind of problems in schools) :)

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  4. MLP

MLP Kilobyte Poster

Hi

I'm a senior Tech in a secondary school, and the only advice I can give is to not panic about it, but don't come across too cocky. Nothing irritates a hiring manager more. Ask loads of questions, both Technical and non-technical.