I shake you warmly by the hand

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by PatM, Aug 14, 2007.

1. PatM

PatM New Member

Hello,

I'm Pat and I'm a new member from Manchester. I want to make a career change but I am unsure how to go about it. I am coming from a senior management role in product management and I have no work experience in any IT field but that is where I want to go and I'm hoping for some advice. I am aware that I am going to have to start at the bottom of the job ladder but my first concern is that employers will look at me as a risk. I have been to one interview for a six month contract and they were concerned that I wouldn't stick with the job, I would find it too lowly, their words not mine. This has made me think I should get my self a qualification before I start looking for work. My first question is, if I get myself qualified do you think I will get employed? and then I suppose what qualifications should I go for?

Here is some info on me.
    37yrs, got an engineering degree, got my MSCE in '98 through self study but I've never used it and it has lapsed. I don't really want to go into MS support, I would prefer networking over supporting operating systems so I have looked at the CCNA, is that sensible or should I start lower?

I think that is more than enough for my intro!

Hope you can help, thanks and hello again.

Pat.

2. wizard

wizard Petabyte Poster

Hi there and welcome 8)

Certifications: SIA DS Licence
    WIP: A+ 2009
  3. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Hi and welcome to CF :)

The CCNA is a good place to start, or you could go for a vendor-neutral cert first like Comptia's Network+. While the CCNA is a great cert to get, it is geared up towards Cisco equipement after you've learnt the basics (like MCP's are geared towards MS tech and Apple certs are geared towards Apple tech).

-ken