I need some guidance please

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by rayvon, Aug 13, 2009.

1. rayvon

rayvon New Member

Hi i am new to this forum have had a little look round and thought it was great with some real good advice.

I am 27 and very recently just passed my A+ and N+ compTIA through self study, my troubles are where do i go next, i realise it is a pointless exercise going down the Cisco route as i have no experience in the field at all and that the qualification only lasts 3 years.I am but a mere fork truck driver and unemployed at that lol, anyway am just wondering what to do now.

I would love to be in charge of a large coporate network one day although i do realise that is a long way off if ever.

sorry my mind wonders lol, am thinking of doing either the MCSA , MCDST, or the MCITP but cant make my mind up because no advice has been offered, your input would be greatly appreciated.

Certifications: A+, N+
    WIP: MCDST
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Hi & welcome to CF :)

IMO, you should go for the MCDST. You've covered the general basics with the A+ & Network+, now it's time to build upon that. There's no point in learning about server's and implementing networks if you don't have the client side knowledge.

Good luck with the studies :)

-ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

You're missing the forest for the trees. What you should do now is get out there and start applying for some entry-level IT jobs!!