How much was MCSE worth to you?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Denver Maxwell, Oct 2, 2008.

1. Denver Maxwell

Denver Maxwell Nibble Poster

For those of you that have a high end cert i ask this question, not in terms of how much you earn, and understanding that different certs in different areas are worth more or less depending on the expectations of employers. Especially as someone looking to spend a great deal of time working towards an MCSE and MCITP.

1) How much would you say that such a qualification as your MCSE made to your salary?
    2) Did you stay with the same employer or move on to obtain a pay rise?
    3) Would you say that this has been a continuing benefit to you? (are you moving up the ladder faster because of it?) (did you really get a £20K pay rise, i think not?)

Just to note that i have several years experience in IT and am only really interested in responses from people that have had a good bit of prior experience, not MCSE with 6 months of experience as its not really that relevant.

Certifications: VMware VCP v5, GVF Level 3a, ITIL V3, Windows 2008 something or other...
    WIP: Prince 2? CCENT? mmm donno
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Directly , zero. But it likely helped me get jobs that were otherwise unavailable to me. Thus, it likely made a HUGE indirect contribution to my salary.

Typically, I moved on. But that's normal in IT... rarely do you stay in one company your entire IT career. A company that largely employs entry-level techs won't be able to offer you anything in the realms of server administration or network administration, can they?

Absolutely. But no, not to the tune of a pay rise. They've certainly made me a more knowledgeable tech, and they've helped me gain employment.