How long to complete A+

Discussion in 'A+' started by Carl S, Apr 24, 2005.

1. Carl S

Carl S New Member

Hi people, I started my A+ course for core hardware and os last week, and was just wondering how long it would roughly take me to complete the whole course. I know different people take different amounts of time to complete things, but I would like to hear how other people got on, so I can work out some rough timescales for myself. I am a total novice regarding computer hardware and os (I can use a computer fine but have no idea how it all works), and I am studying long distance with the Computer Training College, although I can do the practicals locally - which is a big bonus!

Certifications: None
    WIP: CompTIA A +
  2. Jakamoko
    Honorary Member

Jakamoko On the move again ...

Hi Carl,

If you've literally no experience, you should really try and get hold of an old banger of a PC that you can really practice stripping and dis/assembling again, aka "getting your hands dirty". If you can do this, and really capture the bug for it, then sheer enthusiasm (and effort) should see you ready to take at least the first exam in maybe 2 months or so, if not both.

As you say, this is really the "piece of string" question, but jump in with two feet, and you'll soon get a feel for how you are progressing.

btw, why not jump up to the New Members area, and give us a quick intro - other than that, good luck with your studies :)

EDIT:
    Oops, just realised you already did :oops:

Certifications: MCP, A+, Network+
    WIP: Clarity
  3. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

As you pointed out Carl, different people learn at different rates. In my case, when I entered my program, I was a total newbie to hardware and os maintanence. I studied the A+ material both in class and later on my own for probably 6 to 8 months before I took the actual certification exams.