How can a 13 bit number represent 16 bit number?Or why is fragmentation offset multiple of 8?

Discussion in 'CCENT / CCNA' started by shivaji, May 22, 2022.

1. shivaji

shivaji Bit Poster

I am studying about ipv4 fragmentation.

This is ipv4 header. The fields of concern here are-:

-> identification(16 bit)

-> Flags(3 bit)

-> fragment offset(13 bit)

-> Total length(16 bit)

[​IMG]

In order to understand these concepts of fragmentation, I have solved multiple problems. One of them is below.

[​IMG]

Here initially we have 5000 byte datagram of which 20 byte is header.

The MTU is 1500 bytes.

The answer is this-:

Image link-:

[​IMG]

But I am unable to realize this simple concept that I believe even a 5th grader can understand even though I am college level undergraduate student. It is being pretty shameful for me.I am leaving my shame aside and asking this instead of giving up. I have asked this everywhere and everyone says this is basic math but it is not clicking in my head. Imma memorize this lol. I can solve any numerical problem related to fragmentation but this curiosity isn’t letting me to learn further and go to ipv6.

It would be immensely helpful to me if anyone can help me via that above example to understand this simple concept. I am unable to relate with this concept.

I agree there are 2^13 offset values ie 0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9…..8191. So that is the total no. of fragments possible 8192 fragments. But datagram can be only as big as 2^16-1 bytes. But why are we dividing them? It doesn’t make any sense. Maybe it is trying to say that 8192 fragments need to span 65535 bytes which gives 7.99987793 as the answer. But I have calculated it later, and fragmentation doesn’t work like that.

Opinion 1-:

Max “true” fragment offset possible=sum of all previous DATA ONLY excluding header

=65535-n*20 bytes.

Where 65535 is the max total length possible.n is the number of fragments and 20 bytes is the header length