Home Learning Direct for an ACITP Experiences?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Hulk, Oct 4, 2005.

1. Hulk

Hulk New Member

Hi everyone!

Im a printer by trade and i am looking into doing a home study course in web design to change career.
    I am currently considering doing a course with "Home learning direct" and was wondering if anyone has any experiences with them?
    I sent off for some more information on the course after a leaflet came through my door. Shortly afterwards i got a phone call from one of thier reps asking to come to my house and discuss it further which i agreed to do. The rep was pleasant and the course did look good to me and costed £1200 for an ACITP qualification. I told him i was interested and would think about it and asked for some written information he could leave with me. He did not have anything to leave??
    After about a week, one of their customer sales team phoned me and offered me the course half price?? I asked them why it is now half price and she said they get a monthly budget to "Help" certain people such as the elderly or single parents (Which i am none of either). This sounded very suspicious to me. She proceeded to try to get me to start setting up the account then and there which i did not want to do as i had nothing in writing. So she said she will send me the forms to sign and get it moving. Once again i told her i wanted written information on their company and about the course which she said they didnt have anything to send other than a basic course discription.
    Anyway, she has sent me the forms which have not got home learning directs name anywhere on them? it is just a finance agreement with a finance company and there is still no written contract to say what im getting for my money? I have since had another phone call asking me to hurry up and send the forms back signed and send ALL of the copies back and NOT to date the cheque??