Hi

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Chris-Cooper, Jul 15, 2010.

1. Chris-Cooper

Chris-Cooper Bit Poster

Hi I'm Chris from North Yorkshire. I'm embarking on a career change and taking an MCSA. So there will be loads of questions I'm sure. Especially as I don't come from a computing background lol I was a truck driver before I got made redundant!

Certifications: 70-270, 70-291, 70-293
    WIP: 70-290
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Well... I've got good news and bad news. The bad news is that the MCSA isn't designed for people starting out in IT... it's designed for people who have at least six months of server admin experience... not just six months in IT, but six months doing server administration - which is not generally something you start out doing.

The A+, Network+, and MCDST certifications are much more appropriate for someone starting out in IT. I'd recommend that you do those now, and save the MCSA for when you eventually get some server admin experience under your belt.

The good news is... you've found this forum, where you can get some of the best IT certification and advice around. :) Welcome to CertForums!

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  3. Chris-Cooper

Chris-Cooper Bit Poster

Hi Michael, cheers for that. I found that out when I started the course, (last September) but I have since passed 3 of the 4 modules 270, 291 and 293. I just set up a server/client at home and read a lot. One more to go! Then I'm gonna do an MCITP I think.

Certifications: 70-270, 70-291, 70-293
    WIP: 70-290
  4. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Hi Welcome