Hi..

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by ben(f34k), Jul 31, 2008.

1. ben(f34k)

ben(f34k) New Member

Hello every one,
    my name is Ben and I'm a chef working in London. I'm currently looking at jobs in IT and how to get here mainly in network admin and the such. but not shore where to start and these forums look promising. I have nothing other than an IT GCSE, but have been playing with / building PC's and networks all my life, any advice will be welcome. I have looked at training schemes like "advent" but they seem incomplete or expensive.
    Thanks a lot Ben ;)

2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Hi Welcome :)

You do not need a company like advent you can study for IT certs on your own by reading the recommended material and practicing what you learn.

You should have a look at compTIA A+ as your starting point it covers the basics you need to know to be an entry level technican. Then you could moved on to compTIA N+ this covers the findamentals of networking and the you could do the MCDST which covers supporting Windows XP.

Not many people start of in a networking role, most people start as IT techs or help desk techs then progress into networking.

If you consider the A+ the best books to get are PC Technician street smarts by James Pyles and compTIA A+ all in one exam guide 6th edition by Mike Meyers and old PC from a recycling centre or second hand shop would help too.

Good luck

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Hi & welcome to CF :)

Like GBL also stated start with the A+, you can do this via the self-study route or if you want to do this via the class based route, I would suggest contacting you local college(s). As some of them do the A+ in conjunction with the iPRO (so you'll get 2 quals) at a fraction of the course :)

-ken