Hi to all, and why I'm here

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by loco020, Jan 27, 2009.

1. loco020

loco020 New Member

:) Hi,

My first post here so hello to everyone and I’ll try to explain why I’m here.

I’ve with the same company for 20 years. I’m basically an I.T. hardware box & board swapper.
    There are very few opportunities to get really technically involved in my job. Now I’m looking to change that.

I studied for an Open University degree in IT some years ago and this was great. But the amount of work involved meant that I didn’t have time to pursue industry qualifications. And one weird effect was that when I’d graduated I could not be bothered to study. I’d always thought I’d naturally follow on my degree with Cisco studies but that wasn’t the case. I had ‘real’ things to do such as doing up the house, which I’d been promising my wife I’d do, once graduated.

I’m currently a networking hardware engineer. Still not much technical effort involved. Most of the fault finding is done before you get to site. Even if more investigation is required after you arrive, they don’t normally let you log on with the security procedures around these days.

Actually, I hadn’t completely ignored IT qualifications because in 2002 I passed the CCNA (studied for it during the OU break between Oct and Jan – it was easier to pass in those days IMHO) But I only half heartedly tried to carry on studying after graduating, and failed a Cisco BCMSN in 2005 which would have stopped my CCNA from expiring and would have started me on my way to CCNP.