Hi there CF!

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by SHLaval, Oct 21, 2007.

1. SHLaval

SHLaval New Member

Dear All,
    I have been browsing your excellent Forum which I came across searching for information about IT training - but I'm getting ahead of myself! First, an introduction.....

My background is in Life Sciences. I have a BSc and a PhD and 16 years research experience in molecular genetics. I am currently working as an academic researcher. So, why am I here posting on CF? Well, call it a mid-life crisis if you will, but I find myself in need of a career change. Actually, it is driven by an ongoing realisation that my employer is taking me for a ride, my salary has been static for 4 years and my future prospects are extremely bleak. I have just been given a new job which is basically doing all the rubbish admin that my bosses can't be bothered with, I am bored as hell, my funding is shaky to the say the least and I need a change.

As I am in my early forties and have dependents and a large mortgage, my options are limited. I have always been interested in computers and a fairly competent user. As a hobbyist, I built a few systems and I can manage a lot of IT related tasks. A few years back I taught myself C++ for fun (I have always been interested in game programming) and then slid into C#, again just for fun. Along the way I have tried to learn as much as I can about computer fundamentals, networking, OS etc.

Having decided to jump ship I contacted Advent, Computeach and Skillstrain just to get some feedback (before I found CF). Advent have accepted me on an MCSE course (£4500) and they reckon I could get work in 4-6 months at £30K with a 2 year target of £45K. This seemed fairly optimistic to me, especially since I made it clear I wasn't going to move (I am based in NE England). Computeach are going to talk to me in a couple of weeks about a broader package including C# programming and web design.