Hi I.m new here (looking for first real Job in IT).

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Baron210, Mar 3, 2006.

1. Baron210

Baron210 Bit Poster

Hi all,

I'm a noob here, and looking for a total change of direction into IT (Desktop Support Technician, or Helpdesk Analyst).
    I've been building, troubleshooting PC's and various other systems for 26+ years, and at 43 yrs old, realised the clock was ticking age wise, and so I took a step back from being a Logistics Manager (Transport), and decided to pursue my dream of working with Hardware / Software.
    I did an exam with a company called Cerco training, and although not internationally recognised, I phoned the British computer society for some bacground info on Cerco (because I didn't want to blow £5000.00 on a dodgy company), and they had nothing but good words about them, and stated that they employ some ex-Cerco trained staff.
    My next move (having only completed my course with 100% pass grade a week and a half ago), Is to take the Comptia Network plus in a month's time at a local college to me (£335.00) and in September, take the first of four Cisco CCNA modules - £300.00 ea. (of all aspects IT, Networking is the area that excites me).
    Eventually, I would like to move into Network Security.

Have secured two Interviews already for one and two weeks time, Please wish me luck! (God knows, I've applied for so many Jobs online that I thought I was bound to get some positive response). Cerco are also looking hard to place me in a Job....

Thanks Martin Schwanke AKA Baron210 (Website http://www.atpf23.dsl.pipex.com )
    :p

(Heres a Pic of the Cerco Certificate plus two other certificates I gained whilst with Royal Mail, Common to a few of my ex-Royal Mail collegues, My long service award resides in the toilet (wall mounted - not in the porcelain)!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Certifications: Cerco CCSN comptia A+ & N+
    WIP: Cisco CCNA (Aiming for CCNP)
  2. zimbo
    Honorary Member