Hi everyone

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by chriskilga, Dec 5, 2006.

1. chriskilga

chriskilga New Member

I am completely new to all of this, so please go easy.

Just started to look into IT as a career option after many years of going nowhere jobs.
    Everything seems really interesting, but there is so much to take in and work out. Where to begin and start a career is the main thing. Any help or advice would be appreciated.

Thanks for listening.

2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Hi and welcome to CF!

Where to start would depend on where you want to go to. If you have *no* idea of that then perhaps a foundation course at a college might be an idea.

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  3. chriskilga

chriskilga New Member

Hi and thanks.

Been looking through various courses and spoke to someone from Advent. They recommended undertaking the MCSE course. I have looked around and people recommend the A+ course first of all, but this is part of the MCSE course with Advent.

Seems interesting. Any opinions would help me greatly.

Thanks

4. Baba O'Riley

Baba O'Riley Gigabyte Poster

Welcome to the forum.

The A+ is a very good place to start, but the MCSE leads to quite a specific skill set and until you are sure what direction you want to take, it may be best to avoid it. Also, it's a lot of work, especially if you have no prior knowledge or experience. Don't commit to too much to soon. Go for an A+ or similar "entry-level" course (self-study or through a local college) and maybe that will give you some ideas of what direction you want to take.

Certifications: A+, Network+
    WIP: 70-270
  5. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster