Hi All!! Advice needed please!

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by AmandaT, Oct 9, 2008.

1. AmandaT

AmandaT Bit Poster

Hi,

Obviously i'm new here :D and was just wondering if someone could offer me a little advice on the MCDST training/exams.

I've only just started looking at working towards the MCDST as I have a lot of IT knowledge but it is all self taught and I have nothing written down on paper to prove it! Part of my current job is IT support so i've picked up a lot through that too but my employers aren't keen on helping me progress in this area (in case it takes me away from the main part of my job) so have decided to go it alone.

I've been having a search on where to get started with it and have seen a lot of distance learning colleges offering the training but i'm not sure whether this training includes the exams at the end? I've also seen a few of the posts on here talking about different books (i've seen a couple on amazon) and wondered if people teach themselves by working through the books to do the exams at the end or whether they are to assist alongside doing a course? And if you have to sort out the exams yourself where do you start with that?

Sorry i've gone on a little here, but any advice will be much appreciated!

Thanks,
    Amanda :biggrin

WIP: A+, poss. N+, then MCDST
  2. Notes_Bloke

Notes_Bloke Terabyte Poster

Hi & welcome to CF:D

I see you're from the same neck of the woods as me:D

Yes it is quite possible to buy the books from Amazon and self-study for the MCSDT without the need of a course and the added expense. If you already have experience and knowledge then you shouldn't have any problems.

The exams can be booked online through Prometric's website.

Cheers
    NB

Certifications: 70-210, 70-215, A+,N+, Security+
    WIP: MCSA
  3. Notes_Bloke

Notes_Bloke Terabyte Poster

Certifications: 70-210, 70-215, A+,N+, Security+
    WIP: MCSA
  4. The Zig

The Zig Kilobyte Poster

Welcome!